Spring Dandy


Last Monday night I ran my lore master down to the Shadowed Refuge for the first time, just to pick up the stable and hand in a quest. The Foundations of Stone is still my very least favourite part of Moria – it’s scary down there! I then joined a group heading to the Forges, and managed to complete my lore master class quest – that was nice to get out the way! I’m now moving on level 60, and will be heading out to Lorien soon(ish)!

I say ‘ish’ because over the weekend I decided on a change of pace, and tried some of the Spring Festival quests (great Spring Festival guide here, from the folks at A Casual Stroll to Mordor). I’ve been playing LOTRO for over two years now, and never once looked at any of the four annually occurring festivals. However, after stomping some shrews and running around the hedge maze for a couple of hours, I have to say that I’m pleasantly surprised at how fun the events are! The only fly in my hobbit ointment was the ‘Advanced Bullroarer’s Challenge’….read on…!

For anyone that doesn’t know, the basic ‘Bullroarer’s Challenge’ requires you to run your toon across a fence, including a few gaps that have to be jumped, after having chugged a pint of ‘Bullroarer’s Brew’. There’s no hurry (it’s not timed) but still pretty tricky…at least I found it so! Anyhow, I managed it and then went off and did some other Spring Festival quests, and gradually worked my way through the requirements for the ‘Spring Dandy’ deed. Much to my horror, the final part of this deed required a re-visit to the Bullroarer’s Challenge – only this time you have to do the thing inside 20 seconds…!!! Utter madness!! I tried it with a few glasses of wine inside of me on Saturday night, and wasted over an hour of my life in the process. I tried it again the next morning, sober and rested, and managed it inside 10 minutes (I’m sure there’s a life lesson there!). At the end of it all, I’m left with a feeling of great accomplishment, and you can be damn sure that ‘Spring Dandy’ will be my active title for a good while to come!

Bulroarer's Challange

Bulroarer's Challange

So, as well as my new title, I have also collected three new housing items – the Moria Keg, the Sinister Keg, and the plain old Keg. All I need now is a house that’s big enough to display them all in, whilst still being able to display my other treasured items. I wonder if Turbine will introduce housing extensions any time soon…?!

Elsewhere, I’ve moved my farmer up to Master Artisan, and am now working on Grand Master. I find 30 minutes of farming, once or twice week, is about all I can tolerate…

2 Responses to “Spring Dandy”

  1. Goldenstar Says:

    Congratulations! I still haven’t made it across that fence under the time limit! I’ll keep trying!

Leave a Reply

