A Glass Flask of my own


I fulfilled a long-standing ambition last Thursday night, when I finally went on a Watcher raid. Not only that, but I even ended up main tanking the Watcher himself. I went in with my kin and, in fairness, having lost a good few of our more experienced raiders recently, we were a fairly raw group. We ran the instance a total of six times…and failed six times.

For the first two runs, we had only rune-keepers for healing, and I was using my guard for off-tanking. It didn’t work out. The third and fourth runs saw me main tanking, and we wiped on both occasions because I got thoroughly disoriented with all the tentacles flying about, and failed to pick up the watcher quickly enough in the final stage of the fight.

The fourth and firth runs went much the better, I got my tanking positioning right, and we had the big squid down to 100k before power issues (I think) caused us to wipe.

We’re heading back into the ‘Maw for another crack off it, next week – I have high hopes of being victorious… 

On Friday night I latched onto to a PUG running Sammath Gul, bringing along my loremaster. I had spent most of last week working on the volume 2 epilogue quests, and by Friday only had the ‘kill Gorothul’ and complete ‘Sword Hall, Warg Pens, or Dungeons’ quests left. Now, Gorothul is a hard enough chap to bring down even with a good balanced kin group (in my opinion, anyway) so I didn’t really expect to succeed with a PUG. Sure enough, we wiped twice on Gorothul, but amazingly enough, we killed him on our third attempt – and in hard-mode too. To cap off my evening, the Glass Flask dropped on Demafaer, and I won the roll – I went to bed smiling!

Sammath Gul - 2nd boss

Sammath Gul - 2nd boss

I also hit Kindred reputation with the Malledhrim on my lore-master over the weekend, and am now very close to completing all the non-repeatable quests in Mirkwood. My intention is to run Sword Hall just once* in order to complete the epilogue quest series, and then start on volume 3 book 1.

* – If I have to grind, I’d rather grind Virtues (I’m currently working on Empathy rank 10, by killing wargs in Mirkwood, for my guardian), and legendary item runes (got my first tier 8 rune over the weekend) – both of which will be in the game until the day they switch off the servers. Seeing as how radiance is going to be a thing of the past in the not-so-distant future, I’m really not going to kill myself grinding radiance anymore. Gone is my will to run sword hall twenty odd times in order to obtain the three 25 radiance Mirkwood armour pieces. If I happen to feel like running SG, or a kinnie wants me to help them in SH, on the odd occasion – that’s fine.

Leave a Reply

