Warg Pens Revisited


After a long gap of over six months, I returned to the Warg Pens (a Mirkwood 3-man instance) last Monday, taking my LM in the company of a guardian and a minstrel. I DPS traited my LM, and it was actually my first time equipping ‘Improved Sticky Gourd’ – what a nice spell!

On this first attempt we cleared all the way to the second (i.e. the last) boss ‘Kranklob’ without any major issues, but failed hard-mode before we got to him, because we killed all the wargs above but were still left with one piece of meat. Anyhow, we thought that bringing down the boss on easy-mode would be ‘easy’ – needleless to say, it wasn’t…We wiped about four times and gave up. In fairness, our strategy lacked rather a lot of thought – with all three of us trying to DPS the boss while he pulled pairs of adds onto us – not bright.

So, we went back to the ‘Pens last the weekend – this time I took my guardian – and we brought a champion and a minstrel too. We sailed through to Kranklob, maintaining hard mode all the way. The first strategy we tried was me grabbing aggro on the Kranklob, and with my guard kiting him around one of the pillars while the champ took down the adds one at a time, and our mini healed. It worked ok, but the Kranklob kept catching me and doing huge amounts of damage as he bit me on the arse (that’s the trouble with kiting – no block, evade or parry! And maybe I’m just crap at kiting…). In the end, our mini ran out of power before all the adds were down and we wiped.

Second time around, I went toe-to-toe with the boss, and this worked much better. I was able to apply all my skills for BEP (Block, Evade & Parry) and maintain aggro, the mini had to heal less, and the champ did his thing with the adds. The champ went ‘sword and board’ on the adds that ate meat (there are six warg adds, and five pieces of meat that they must eat in order to keep HM) so that their 100% damage buff (that they gain after eating a slab of meat) was less of an issue for him; I had ‘Protection’ on the champ at all times too. We burned more pots that I care to think about (poison, wound, fear, morale and power), with the mini applying slaves on to my guard and the champ, as well as us using pots on ourselves. A couple of all-blue fellowship manoeuvres (thanks to ‘Turn the Tables’) at crucial times helped immensely with power, and we completed hard-mode fairly comfortably in the end. This netted us 9 Dol Guldur medallions each, plus some nice runics and weapon XP. All in all – a fun time!

Oh yes – a final point to note….the poison DoTs from Kranklob are very nasty, and best cleared before other DoT types and/or debuffs. If there’s no hunter in your group, you’ll need to use plenty of poison pots. Also, make sure your poison mitigation is as high as possible before starting the fight – ‘Lamb and Mushroom Soup’ is useful for this.

Elsewhere in game, I moved my rune-keep on to level 61 over the weekend. I’m still in Moria, and hoping to get all three 2.5.5 instances done this week, with my kin. I’m also working on her ‘Legend of the Deeps’ deed – I have 16 quests left to go…

About the only other thing of note that I’ve achieved in the last week, is rank 10 on my LM’s Loyalty  – a lot of Craban in Eregion died this week to achieve this!  I’m also still working on Zeal for my guard (currently rank 10). I took part in a successful Forges HM run on Friday night to increase my Orcs of The Forge count to 56 out of 80 – so one more run should do it. I also wasted another 30 or so Giants in the Misty Mountains, to bring my tally there to 42 out of 160.

Leave a Reply

