It never rains for what it pours


It never rains for what it pours – as they say in Bree…(and if they don’t, they should).

Just after I put up my last post, my PC died a quick and painless death. It had been coming, in fairness. I knew the hard disk was beginning to wobble, but in the end it was the transformer that died first. Yup, I know I could have replaced it, but to be honest, it just wasn’t worth the repair bill. The unit as a whole was nearly six years old, and while top of its range when bought in 2004(ish), it no longer had any real worth.
 
So I’ve bitten the bullet and ordered a shiny new PC – but it won’t be here for another few days. In the meantime, I’ve been restricted to borrowing my kids’ PC and, to be honest, it sucks just a little. Whilst it’s a newish PC in itself, the built-in graphics card is just woeful. And yes, I could put my (salvaged) 9600GT into it, but I just can’t be bothered. So, since I endured the nearly 24 hour wait for the full client to download (yawn), I’ve been struggling to play LoTRO on minimum graphics settings – yeuk!!!

On the plus side? Well, I won the lovely painted skeleton horse on my warden last night – a definite bonus. I’m hoping to pick another up, preferably on one of my mains, before the autumn festival closes here in the EU, on 26th November. Elsewhere, I’ve not done much, due to the reason explained above. I’ve done a bit of Enedwaith on a couple of toons, and had my arse kicked by the Watcher (it is bugged since F2P, we’re sure!). I’ve also ticked off the Helegrod Giant and Drake wings, plus all of the new Great Barrows instances – except bringing down Sambrog himself.

My Skeleton Horse

My Skeleton Horse

Anyhow, by the time I next post, hopefully I’ll be back with a new shiny PC!

Leave a Reply

