Christmas Activities


It’s been a couple of weeks since my last post, and the Christmas break has seen me busy, in-game.

My rune-keeper is now finally at level cap. Thanks to some time off work before Christmas, I brought her all the way through Lothlorien, hitting ‘kindred’ with the Galadhrim on the way, and also completing volume 2 book 8 of the epic quest line; I then brought her through the Mirkwood starter area, and I’m now questing in Mirkwood proper, while also working on finishing up volume 2.

I have to say, at this stage, that I find the RK a hard class to play at level cap. The lack of a reliable mezz makes for very hard multi-mob pulls, and I find I die much more regularly than with any of my other level 65 toons…that said, my equipment still isn’t as good as I’d like it, as I haven’t ground out an end-game set for her – I’ll probably start looking at grinding the Helegrod set once I have the majority of Mirkwood out the way – but with the end of radiance now on the horizon, I’m less inclined to put in the time…that said, the Helegrod sets, even without considering radiance, look to be a good bet when compared to any of the other end-game armour sets.

Elsewhere, I finally got my lore-master enough radiance to join a couple of my kin’s raids into Barad Guldur. For the uninitiated, this 12-man raid in Mirkwood, currently requires a minimum of 115 radiance for a toon to be effective, so I used some ‘Superior Third Marks’ and picked up the Helegrod 25-radiance ‘Beast-Master’ head piece for my LM, bringing her total radiance up to 120. Two runs through ‘The Gauntlet’ later, and I can honestly say “What damn good fun!”. That said, we’ve so far failed to bring down Durchest, but the last attempt was oh-so-close….one of our minstrels managed to acquire aggro near the end of the fight, and Durchest then proceeded to wipe us…grrrrr!

I’ve had a bit of an epiphany, in fact. I’m now a raider. When I say that, I mean that the part of LoTRO that I enjoy the most is raiding. In game, I’m now at my happiest (most of the time) with my headset on, running group content with kinnies. That’s some change, as I always used to be an alto-holic – more interested in levelling than grouping. Is this a change for the better? Only time will tell, I guess…

So, what else have I been up to? Well, running my toons through Enedwaith, mostly. I’ve yet to hit kindred with either of the Enedwaith factions (the Grey Company and the Algraig) – but I’m not far off. I particularly want the shield/pocket item combo for my guardian – but that will be another week or two coming. And after that….? I might just try to grind out a couple of Helegrod armour sets…

Leave a Reply

