Update 2 – Some More Impressions


Last Saturday night I ran my first toon, my lore-master, though the new epic book – volume 3, book 3. I did this with a kin-group and we fellowed for all the quests that had a fellowship option; and I have to say it was just too easy. At no stage in any of the instances, did we feel in any way challenged. This doesn’t surprise me. Turbine, seems to be nerfing everything in sight, when it comes to the epic quest line.

I can understand the reasons for reducing the difficulty level for old epic instances such as 2.4.7 and 2.5.5, but not for the latest epic quests. The three instances for 2.5.5 were always challenging – the ‘Battle of The Deepway’, significantly so, when run on level. 2.6.8 was another instance that I for one found challenging, when first attempted.

So why can’t we have some challenge in the new epic instances? On Saturday night, the six of us who ran through 3.3 were chatting and joking all the way though, doing everything but concentrating on what we were doing. Nobody came close to dying. No puzzle solving or special tactics were ever required. And none of us had ever run through any of the instances before.

Last night I tried the same 3.3 content solo, using ‘Inspired To Greatness’, on my minstrel. My impressions weren’t changed at all – again it was too easy by far.

Session play in Volume 3, Chapter 3

Session play in Volume 3, Chapter 3

On the plus side, 3.3 does have an interesting story line. The session play with Isuldur is well done, and the last chapter ends very sadly – which is kind of appropriate. That said, here’s my plea to Turbine…put the same level of difficulty into epic instances that you are currently putting in to the raid clusters.

Which leads me nicely onto…

I tried the new Stoneheight instance on Tuesday night. I liked it. This is one of the new three-man instances, and it’s based in the North Downs. I like the fact that you have to find the entrance to it first off. The bosses are challenging, and the trash mobs are not so numerous as to raise frustration. We only tried tier 1; tier 2 can wait for another day – but tier 1 was useful  for working out strategies for the bosses and seeing how the instance played overall. The whole instance, as befits a 3-man, can be run in well under an hour. A good job, Turbine.

Leave a Reply

