Welcome to Turbine


The transition to the turbine service went smoothly enough. I experienced a worrying timeout error mid-way through my Turbine account creation process, but in the end it all worked out fine. My Turbine Points came across fine too – albeit a few days later.

My first impressions of Update 3 are positive too. I’ve run both of the new skirmishes – ‘Icy Crevasse’ and ‘Attack At Dawn’ – a couple of times each – once on my minstrel and once on my guardian – and found them to be challenging but by no means impossible. I didn’t die at all when running them with my guardian (on tier 1 at level 65), but my minstrel did die twice in the the Icy Crevasse alright (but not during at the boss fight, curiously enough).

For ‘Attack at Dawn’, I found the way to handle the last boss with my minstrel was to let her soldier, a protector, DPS the boss, while I healed both the protector and myself, plus took care of the goblin scouts; helping out the protector with DPS, when healing and goblin killing weren’t required. With my guardian, it was just DPS all the way, taking care of the goblins myself while leaving my soldier, a sage, on the boss all the time.

For ‘The Icy Crevasse’, it was a similar call. Except no goblins to worry about, and I positioned my minstrel over the steaming vent for the healing buffs.

Elsewhere with regard to the Update 3 content, I’ve picked up the location for the new 3-man instance in Angmar on most of my toons – plus had a peek inside – but haven’t actually grouped up for a run through, as yet. For anyone who hasn’t found the ‘Halls of Night’ entrance – head north out of Aughaire, and follow the cliff around to the east (your right hand side if you’re running north out of Aughaire); the entrance isn’t too far along the cliff face.

Frothmar dead - now what's in that chest?!

Frothmar dead - now what's in that chest?!

This week my calendar is pretty full with raids and 6-mans. On Monday and Tuesday we ventured back to Ost Dunhoth. The switch to Turbine does seem to have given us some added luck because we managed to clear both the Disease wing and, for the first time, the poison wing – both on Tier 1. I have to say it was a relief to get Frothmar down – he was certainly challenging. Anyhow, my kin can now report a clean sweep of all the OD wings on Tier 1. Next we’re going to attempt the Wound wing on Tier 2 – I’m looking forward to it.

Tonight it’s back down the ‘In Their Absence’ quest chain for a Lost Temple run, and then tomorrow we’re following that up with a trip to Sari Surma. I’ll let you all know how they go…

Leave a Reply

