Into ‘The Rift’…and other bits


Ok. The deeding and skirmishing is wearing a little thin at this stage. We’re just over two weeks out from the release of Rise of Isenguard (RoI), and at least two of my four level 65s, are ready to go. That said, I’ve ground out about as much Zeal as I think I can stand, and it’ll be a long time before I kill another Dragonet in Zirakzigil…for those readers who aren’t aware, Zeal is being re-jigged in RoI to provide a bucket load of morale, which will make it one of the most desirable traits in the game.

One other little activity that I’ve been undertaking, is the crafting of symbols, on all my guilded crafters. This is because there’s a new crafting tier coming with RoI and the only way to get Kindred rep in this new tier is to make lots, and lots, and lots…of symbols…45,000 reputation worth! CSTM has further details here.

Elsewhere in game, I’ve moved my burglar up to level 47. I’ve now completed both chapters one and two of volume 2 (epic quest line), with him, and therefore acquired his first legendary items. Woot! Added to that, I have his level 45 class quests done too (ok I cheated a bit, I grabbed the majority of the items needed for this from my kin’s bank).  Now back to questing in Angmar, the Misty Mountains and Forochel until I hit level 50…I might make this before RoI release…we’ll see.

Balrog in The Rift

Balrog in The Rift

Finally, I can report that I’ve successfully finished that old chestnut, The Rift, for the very first time – on any toon. When ‘The Rift’ was the hardest and best raid in the game, I only had one toon (my guardian) and he was only level 48ish; it was pre-Moria. So I never ran ‘The Rift’ in anger, and certainly never got near to killing the balrog. So, last Friday, as a little distraction, we had a Rift kin run, and we went all the way through in about three hours – me on my minstrel. Great fun it was too, and the balrog fight was challenging enough. It must have been damn challenging at level 50!!! 😀

Leave a Reply

