Saviour Of Khazad-dum…almost!


Firstly, a belated welcome to 2012. Since my last post, Christmas and New Year have come and gone. I was lucky enough t have a fairly extended Christmas break, and while I wasn’t by any means glued to the PC over the holiday period, I did spend a good few hours gaming. However, LoTRO wasn’t top of my festive activity list – this year Orcs Must Die and SWTOR were my two avenues of gaming-based escapism. Both provided some excellent entertainment, but mid-January finds me drawn back to LoTRO like a helpless bee to a honey pot.

My loremaster is now level 75. Only just, but level 75 nevertheless. I still have some way to go with regard to maxing out reputation with Theodred’s Riders, but that will come in time. In the meantime, I now have my guardian, my rune-keeper and my loremaster, all at the level 75 level cap. Variety is the spice of life and also helpful when getting kin raiding groups together!

My Loremaster Hits Level 75

My Loremaster Hits Level 75

Talking of raiding, my kin have now had several nights-worth of attempts at Saruman in the Tower of Orthanc raid. We’ve gotten to stage five a few times, but never completed. More practise required, obviously! In fact, with update 5.1 hitting yesterday, a few of the bugs with the Orthanc raid look to have been sorted, so I’m hopeful that things might go a little better in our next attempt or two.

Saruman - going down! (hopefully)

Saruman - going down! (hopefully)

The Draigoch raid takes noticeably less time (but is not much easier!) since update 5.0 came out last month, and I have to say I’m appreciative of Turbine for that – reducing the Big Dragon’s morale from 9 million down to 6 million, means we don’t have to stay sat down, glued to the mouse & keyboard, for an hour and a quarter straight…Now it only takes around 45 minutes for a typical tier 2 (12-man) run, if you don’t wipe! Having been asked to tank in there for the very first time last week, I can honestly say that my nerves were shredded by trying to work out the ‘go left!’ and ‘go right!’ calls for the rest of the raid – particularly in phase 2. And yes, I did make a mess of it first time around and yes we did wipe 😛

Finally, remember Moria? It was officially released on 18th November 2008. I reckon my first toon, my guardian, entered Moria for the first time a few weeks after that – probably around Christmas 2008. That’s just over three years ago now. And guess what? I’ve gradually been soloing my way though the very few remaining Moria deeds that I have outstanding on that same guardian. Over the past couple of weeks, I’ve completed (solo):

  1. The Grand Stair troll slayer deed.
  2. The Grand Stair warg slayer deed.
  3. The Fil Gashan orc-Skirmisher deed.

Completing 1 & 2 meant completion of the Grand Stair deed.  Completing 3 meant completion of Marshal of the Burning Depths. In turn, this means that the Saviour of Khazad-dum meta-deed is almsot done. The very last Moria deed I have left is the Skumfil kergrim slayer deed, required to complete the Mastery Over Fear deed. 28 kergrim left to kill and counting!

Leave a Reply

