80s and 85s – But what next?


As I type this, my LoTRO installation is patching to ‘Update 9’. There’s a fair bit in this update, but the most anticipated will surely be the new 3-man which are officially a part of the RoR expansion. These instances may well hold my interest over the Christmas period but I doubt the new Yule Festival will – the latter sounds like a rather big grind and that is something I’m not willing to take on, at the moment.

In-game, my loremaster has hit level 85 about three weeks ago, and I’ve done very little since. Some Hytbolt grinding has seen me get the Hytbolt armor pieces that I wanted – I’m currently running with the head and shoulders from the Hytbolt set combined with the chest, legs, gloves and shoulders from the Draigoch set. The reason for this mix is down to the complete lack of fate on the Hytbolt set for LMs – and I like to run with a good wedge of fate for improved critting.

Anyhow, I’m now at the stage where I have very little motivation or enthusiasm for grinding out the rest of the Hytbolt tokens required to finish the rebuild…I’m reckoning another 20-odd days will be required to see the job done but for….what? I could easily start moving another of my level 75s through the RoR expansion, but I don’t have a lot of enthusiasm for that either. So the new 3-man instances are really all I’m looking at inside LoTRO, at the moment.

On the other hand my recent time in GW2 has been fun and challenging. My elementalist hit level 80 about ten days ago and I’m finding the end game areas a tough ask. I’ve been dying a lot whilst moving though the ‘Straights of Devastation’ and working on my personal story out of Fort Trinity. That said, when I hit 80, I was running around in gear that was, in the main, only of ‘fine’ quality (i.e. the blue stuff!) and most of it was level 70 or below. So, my main issue has been trying to upgrade to rare or better gear, at or around the 80 mark. Gradually, it’s coming together and I’m finding that I’m a little less ‘glass’ and a bit more ‘cannon’.

Guess Where...

Guess Where…

Being used to the LoTRO environment where most of the level-cap solo content is fairly innocuous, GW2 has been a bit of a shock. That said the challenge has been, and continues to be, welcome. Add to that the size of the world (I’m currently at 43% complete) and I can see myself leveling at least one other toon through to 80 in due course, as I’ve no intention of going for world completion on one single character – at least at the moment.

Flying High in GW2

Flying High in GW2

So, going forward, my immediate GW2 aims are a full set of rare (‘yellow’) gear, and completion of my personal story. Then maybe launch into a second toon. Plenty to do!

2 Responses to “80s and 85s – But what next?”

  1. Fate really isn’t good in Lotro anymore. I think you’re doing your LM a disservice by not getting 5 pieces of the dps set. Just look for pure crit on jewellery. My LM has horrible fate but is up to nearly 36k tactical mastery and crits and devastates plenty.

    Orr is quite a bit harder than the rest of the GW2 world. It was a bit of a shock! Cursed Shore is the worst. 😛 Luckily I had a friend I could do those zones with. Some bits are incredibly nasty.

    As for gearing up, you can save yourself A LOT of money if you get lvl 79 stuff. That’s what I’ve done. The difference is minimal from a lvl 80. No it’s not the best, but it saved me lots of gold so I’m okay with it. 😛 So have a look at lvl 78-79 exotics. You might be able to afford some stuff. 🙂

  2. Yet again you come up with some great pointers for me Lothirieth. Thanks a mil! It looks like I might be doing some more Hytbolt! 😉

    Good tip on the 78-79 exotics too – It’ll save me a good wedge of time and gold 🙂

    I’ve yet to hit Cursed Shore – not looking forward to it…

Leave a Reply

